Fill out this form and we will contact you as soon as possible to schedule your initial case review.
The state of Ohio takes domestic violence cases quite seriously, with severe penalties levied for those convicted. Domestic cases will be aggressively prosecuted by the state and may rely on subjective statements from the alleged victim and law enforcement in order to convict.
Due to the possibility of being treated unfairly or unjustly during the process, along with the simple fact that a domestic violence charge can have devastating ramifications on your livelihood, understanding your options and immediately getting started on defending your name should be your top priority.
With all there is to lose in a domestic violence case, a smart and calculated defense strategy is vital in arguing your side of the story and eventually being exonerated. If you have been accused of domestic assault or battery, call the Joslyn Law Firm today to discuss your options.
Brian Joslyn is a qualified and dedicated criminal defense attorney who will make certain that you are well taken care of during this difficult and stressful time in your life. With a strict adherence to protecting your rights and providing excellent client service, working with Brian will give you the opportunity to successfully argue your case.
Call (614) 444-1900 or send an online message to schedule a free and confidential consultation to discuss the specifics of your case today. Brian Joslyn proudly represents individuals accused of criminal acts in the central Ohio counties of Delaware, Franklin, Madison, Licking, Fairfield, and Pickaway.
To start, Ohio defines Assault in ORC §2903.13 as recklessly causing or attempting to cause physical harm to another.
Adding the domestic violence aspect of the charge, according to ORC §2919.25, no person shall:
If an individual is accused of knowingly causing, or attempting to cause physical harm or serious physical harm, they will be charged with a misdemeanor of the first degree. If the individual is accused of causing a family member to believe they are in imminent physical danger, by threat of force, they will be charged with a misdemeanor of the fourth degree (§2903.13).
A first degree misdemeanor, if convicted, comes with a presumptive sentence of up to six months in jail and / or up to $1,000 in fines.
A fourth degree misdemeanor, if convicted, comes with a presumptive sentence of up to 30 days in jail and / or fines of up to $250.
If you are currently under investigation for a domestic assault or domestic battery charge, procrastinating and not taking every precaution necessary can have debilitating effects on your well-being and livelihood.
Working with qualified criminal defense attorney Brian Joslyn can make all the difference in a case such as this. Using his extensive legal knowledge and commitment to protecting the rights of his clients, Brian can frame a defense argument that will allow you to reach the most favorable outcome so you can move on with your life.
Call (614) 444-1900 to schedule a free and confidential consultation with the Joslyn Law Firm today.