Fill out this form and we will contact you as soon as possible to schedule your initial case review.
If you have been convicted of driving in Ohio with a suspended license, you could face potentially harsh penalties that may include jail time, fines and/or permanent license revocation.
Your first Driving While License is Suspended (DWLS) charge may only be an unclassified misdemeanor. However, if you have been charged with one or more DWLS offenses, it is imperative to hire an experienced traffic defense attorney who can help you find possible defenses or mitigating factors to your offense.
Your DWLS offense may have resulted from an underlying offense that caused your license to be suspended you were unaware of. An experienced traffic defense attorney can help you resolve the underlying charge and reinstate your license.
If you have been charged with Driving with a Suspended License in Columbus, Ohio, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at the Joslyn Law Firm today. Brian Joslyn of the Joslyn Law Firm can assist you in finding possible defenses or mitigating factors to your charges.
Contact the Joslyn Law Firm at (614) 444-1900 for a free consultation today about your driver’s license offense or DWLS in Franklin County and surrounding counties of Ohio.
Driving Under Suspension or in Violation of License Restriction is defined in § 4510.11 of the Ohio Revised Code. This offense involves an individual operating a motor vehicle on the public roads or highways or private property used for public travel while their license is suspended unless they have been granted limited driving privileges.
Ohio law provides for several different reasons why person’s driver’s license may be suspende. A few common reasons for license suspension in Ohio can include, but are not limited to:
This offense is punishable as a misdemeanor of the first degree, which can result in a jail sentence up to 180 days and/or fines of not more than $1,000. Additionally, a person who is convicted of this offense will face a class seven suspension of their driver’s license. This can result in a suspension of driving privileges for up to one year.
If a person’s license has been suspended for failure to appear or pay a fine, they can be convicted of an unclassified misdemeanor. This means the alleged offender will be required to pay a fine up to $1,000 and/or serve up to five hundred hours of community service. However, they will not be punished by a jail sentence or other community residential sanctions.
If an individual has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to two or more violations of driving with a suspended license within the preceding three years, they can be convicted of a misdemeanor of the first degree.
For a first misdemeanor in the first-degree DWLS offense, an alleged offender can also be ordered to have the vehicle involved in the incident immobilized for 30 days, in addition to impoundment of that vehicle’s license plates for 30 days. A subsequent offense will result in vehicle immobilization for 60 days and vehicle license plate impoundment for 60 days. A third offense will result in criminal forfeiture of the vehicle involved in the offense.
In Ohio, the law provides for sevearl different ways that a crime related to a driver's license violation can be prosecuted including:
Contact the Joslyn Law Firm today for a free consultation if you have been charged with driving while license is suspended in Columbus, Ohio. Brian Joslyn of the Joslyn Law Firm is an aggressive and knowledgeable Columbus traffic defense attorney who will listen to the particular facts of your case and will make every effort to aggressively fight the charges against you.
Call the Joslyn Law Firm at (614) 444-1900 for a consultation about your license-related traffic offense in Franklin County and surrounding counties, including Pickaway County, Madison County, Delaware County, Licking County and Fairfield County in Ohio.
This article was last updated on Tuesday, March 14, 2017.