Assault / Battery

One of the most frequently charged criminal offenses in Ohio is assault. Assault charges can result from many situations that resulted in harm to another person, even if the alleged offender did not intend to actually harm the alleged victim.

A conviction for this offense can lead to serious repercussions, including jail or prison sentences, loss of an ability to own or possess a firearm, negative effects on reputation, loss of certain employment or educational opportunities, a criminal record and/or fines.

Columbus Assault Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with an assault offense in Columbus, Ohio, contact the Joslyn Law Firm. Brian Joslyn is knowledgeable in all areas of Ohio’s violent crimes, including assault offenses, and will make every effort to fight the allegations against you. Call the Joslyn Law Firm for a consultation about your alleged assault offense at (614) 444-1900 in Franklin County and the surrounding counties in Ohio.


Back to top

Assault According to Ohio Law

According to the Ohio Rev. Code § 2903.13, an individual can be charged with assault when they knowingly caused or attempted to cause physical or serious physical harm to another person or another person’s unborn child.


Back to top

Ohio Aggravated Assault Statute

According to the Ohio Rev. Code § 2903.12, and individual can be charged with aggravated assault if they knowingly caused serious physical harm to another person or to another person’s unborn child when they were provoked or in the heat of passion or rage.

A person can also be charged with this offense if they knowingly caused or attempted to cause physical harm to another person or to another person’s unborn child by using a deadly weapon, when provoked or in the heat of passion or rage.


Back to top

Criminal Punishments for Assault Charges

Assault is generally a misdemeanor of the first degree, which can lead to 180 days in jail and/or fines up to $1,000.

If the assault is committed by a caretaker of a functionally impaired person, the offense is felony of the third degree, which can result in a prison sentence from one to five years and/or fines not more than $10,000.

If the assault occurs on certain local or state correctional facilities, the victim is an employee of the facility and the alleged offender is in custody at the facility, the offense is a felony of the fifth degree, which can result in a prison sentence from six months to one year and/or fines not exceeding $2,500.

If the assault occurs on school grounds and the victim is a school teacher or administrator, the offense is a felony of the fifth degree, which can result in a prison sentence from six months to one year and/or fines not more than $2,500.

If the assault is against a peace officer or state investigator, the offense is a felony of the fourth degree, which can result in imprisonment from six to 18 months, and/or fines up to $5,000.

Aggravated assault is generally a felony of the fours degree, which can result in a prison sentence ranging from six to 18 months and/or fines not more than $5,000.

If the aggravated assault is against a peace officer or state investigator, the offense is a felony of the third degree, which can result in imprisonment from one to five years, and/or fines up to $10,000.


Back to top

Joslyn Law Firm | Columbus Battery Defense Lawyer

Contact the Joslyn Law Firm today for a consultation about your alleged assault charge in Columbus, Ohio. It is important to hire an experienced Columbus violent crimes lawyer who will make every effort to help you avoid the most serious penalties and repercussions to your charges. Call (614) 444-1900 for a consultation about your assault violent crime charges in Franklin County and surrounding counties, including Pickaway County, Madison County, Delaware County, Licking County and Fairfield County in Ohio.