Carrying a Concealed Weapon
The state of Ohio does allow its citizens to carry concealed firearms with them. However, if a person chooses to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) they must comply with Ohio's laws and regulations. A person must be licensed, perform certain procedures when encountering law enforcement, and other regulations.
Those who violate concealed carry laws or do not have a proper license may face harsh penalties. A person convicted of a concealed carry violation may face misdemeanor charges. This can include harsh fines, and even possible jail time. It is important that you take the steps to protect your rights.
If you have been charged with a violation of Ohio's concealed carry laws, it is recommended that you obtain legal representation.
Columbus Attorney for CCW in Ohio
It is your right in Ohio to carry a concealed weapon if you have taken the appropriate legal measures to obtain a license. However, if you have a CCW license you must adhere to certain laws and regulations. Any person, who has violated a concealed carry law in the central Ohio area, should contact the attorneys at [firm].
Our attorneys at [firm] have over 20 years of combined experience in Ohio's legal system. We want to preserve your right to bear arms. [firm] will go above and beyond to get superior results for their clients. Every attorney at [firm] strives for legal excellence and works with their clients every step of the way. [firm]'s founder, Brian Joslyn, was voted as one of the top 10 best criminal defense lawyers in Ohio by the National Academy of Criminal Defense Attorneys.
[firm] defends the right to bear arms for clients throughout the greater Central Ohio area and surrounding communities including Newark, Cincinnati, Marysville, Dublin, Worthington, and Circleville.
Do not be idle when it comes to your freedom. Call [phone] or simply submit an online contact form for a free consultation today.
Overview for Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Ohio
Requirements for a Concealed Carry License in Ohio
Ohio allows residents to conceal carry firearms for their own safety. If a person wants to obtain a CCW license in Ohio, they must fulfill certain requirements. The following are the criteria a person must complete to be eligible for a concealed carry license in Ohio.
- Complete application with the Concealed Carry Permit Office;
- Resident of Ohio for 45 days;
- 21 Years of age or older;
- Certification of competency to handle a firearm;
- Resident of the county issuing the license for 30 days; and
- A color photography that was taken within the last 30 days.
Alongside this, no person can conceal carry or concealed ready at hand, any of the following:
- A deadly weapon other than a handgun;
- A handgun other than a dangerous ordnance; and
- A dangerous ordnance.
Ohio Revised Code § 2923.11 defines the term "dangerous ordnance" as any of the following:
- Automatic or sawed-off firearm;
- Ballistic knife;
- Any explosive or incendiary device;
- Rocket Launcher;
- Firearm muffler;
- Firearm suppressor;
- Any combination of parts that is used to convert any firearm into an dangerous ordnance;
- Blasting agents or any other explosive substance having sufficient power to be used as a military explosive, mining, quarrying, excavating, or demolitions; and
- Any kind of firearm, ammunition, or similar weapon designed and manufactured for military purposes.
Ohio Concealed Carry Laws
In Ohio, a person with a concealed carry license must adhere to rules and regulations. The reasons for these standards are to protect the general public and law enforcement. If a person violates any of these laws may lose their license and face possible legal repercussions.
A licensed CCW holder must do the following when stopped by law enforcement for any reason:
- Inform law enforcement they are licensed in concealed carry and are currently carrying a concealed weapon
- Keep their hands in plain sight at any time if approached by a law enforcement officer
- Do not attempt to remove the concealed handgun from its location
- If requested to, hold the concealed handgun during the entire stop
- Comply with any sort of lawful order from law enforcement
Penalties for Violating CCW Laws in Ohio
A violation of a concealed carry law in Ohio is a first degree misdemeanor. A first degree misdemeanor may result in a fine up to $1,000, and even possible jail time. Those who have repeat CCW violations, had the weapon loaded during the offense, or carried dangerous ordnance may face a felony to the fourth degree. A fourth degree felony can result in up to 18 months in prison.
If the alleged offender is unable to produce a concealed handgun license in time, they will also be charged. A person who is in a restricted area and does not promptly present a concealed handgun license when asked may be arrested. The arrest can be reduced to a of a minor misdemeanor if both:
- They were not knowingly in a place where they were not authorized to carry a concealed weapon at the time of arrest; and
- Produce a concealed handgun license within 10 days and the license was valid at the time of the stop
However, a person is considered guilty of a misdemeanor and fined five hundred dollars if all of the following apply:
- Had a concealed carry license and the license expired two years before the arrest;
- Present a concealed carry license within 45 days after the arrest, and waive the right to a speedy trial; and
- Were in a place where they were not knowingly in a place where they were not authorized to carry a concealed weapon at the time of arrest.
Ohio's CCW laws are different when it comes to law enforcement stops. If a person is concealed carrying a weapon and does not notify the officer, they may face a misdemeanor in the first degree. A first degree misdemeanor conviction can result to up to 180 days in jail.
In the circumstances that a CCW holder does not keep their weapon in plain sight at the time of the stop, it will result in a first degree misdemeanor. Alongside this, a person will be granted a first degree misdemeanor if he or she does not comply with a lawful order by a police officer while carrying.
If that person is a repeat offender for violating CCW laws with law enforcement, the penalty will be enhanced to a fifth degree felony. Additionally, if a person attempts to remove their concealed weapon during a stop, they will be automatically charged with felony in the fifth degree.
Ohio Revised Code § 2923.12 – Visit the official website for Ohio's laws and legislation. View the statutory language surrounding concealed carry laws in Ohio. See the different Ohio CCW disqualifiers, the penalties surrounding Ohio's concealed carry laws, and how to comply with law enforcement.
Concealed Carry Permit – Visit the Franklin County Sheriff's website and read more on how to obtain a concealed carry permit. See different concealed carry license in Ohio, the hours for concealed carry permits office, schedule an appointment online, and see the requirements on how to apply for a CCW license in Ohio.
Ohio Laws Allow License Peopled to Carry Concealed Firearms in Bars – Visit the website for the Ohio Bar Association. Read an article regarding Senate Bill 17, which allows Ohio residents the ability to carry concealed firearms into business establishments, such as restaurants and bars.
Columbus Lawyer for Concealed Carry in Ohio
Have you been arrested or charged with a CCW violation in the greater Franklin County area? It is important that you stay informed and protect yourself. Find experienced legal representation with the attorneys at [firm].
The attorneys at [firm] are respected and qualified in Ohio law. We are knowledgeable in all CCW laws in Ohio. Our attorneys are proficient in negotiating and interpreting Ohio legislation to formulate a sturdy defense. We approach each client with care and attention. Do not sit idly by in this scenario. Find a respected attorney with [firm].
[firm] accepts clients throughout the Southern District of Ohio and nearby counties including Lancaster in Fairfield County, Columbus in Franklin County, Washington Court House in Fayette County, Delaware in Delaware County, Newark in Licking County, London in Madison County, and Circleville in Pickaway County.
Have some peace of mind today. Call [phone] or submit an online contact form for a free consultation to speak to a qualified attorney about your CCW case today.
This article was last updated by Jordan Anderson, on July 30th, 2018.